## TEAM VALOR HEADLINE NEWS October 6, 2015

## TVI ANNOUNCES SPEAKERS FOR FOURTH ANNUAL BERGSTEIN AWARD WADA'S BEN NICHOLS AND THE MEADOWLANDS' JEFF GURAL TO HEADLINE PRESENTATION SET FOR NOV. 12 AT FASIG-TIPTON PAVILION IN LEXINGTON

A spokesman for the World Anti-Doping Agency and perhaps the most vigilant racetrack operator in the U.S. on the issue of illegal drugs will be featured speakers at Team Valor International's Stan Bergstein Writing Award presentation on November 12 at the Fasig-Tipton sales pavilion in Lexington.



The purpose of the \$25,000 award is to encourage and honor strong, investigative journalism on the topic of horse racing in America. WADA's senior manager of media and communications, Ben Nichols, will speak at the Bergstein Award presentation after first coming to Team Valor CEO Barry Irwin's attention in an Op/Ed that Nichols wrote with a similar objective, to welcome and promote the role of

investigative journalism in furthering the "clean sport" movement. The English-born Nichols is based in Montreal.

Also speaking will be Jeff Gural, who operates the Meadowlands, Vernon Downs and Tioga Downs harness racetracks and spends around \$150,000 annually on integrity initiatives, including the use of a private investigator and cutting-edge means of drug detection.

Irwin said "As the award has grown in prominence and visibility over the last few years, we have decided to move the presentation program to a larger venue and increase the number and profile of the speakers. We have also invited several college, high school and young equine professional groups from the Central Kentucky area to attend.

"We are thrilled to have Ben Nichols and Jeff Gural as speakers and fully expect that they will both impart a special message."

The Stan Bergstein Writing Award will cover the period from November 2, 2014 to November 1, 2015 and is open to stories about horse racing for a U.S. publication or website. Team Valor has nominated six stories to date and will turn all the candidates over to five judges who will select a winner.

This year's judges are Randy Moss of NBC Sports, Steve Haskin of the *Blood-Horse*, long-time Turf writer and publicist Lynne Snierson, owner-breeder George Strawbridge and Jon White of Santa Anita Park.

The previous winners are Joe Drape and Walt Bogdanich of the *New York Times,* Ray Paulick of the *Paulick Report* and Lucas Marquardt of the *Thoroughbred Daily News*.

